Napoem 26 – The Psychologist Breaks the Rules

The Psychologist Ignores the Rules

I despise I.Q. testing.
Every time –
it may be the simplest thing –

In what direction does the sun rise?

She answers “up”
and cries.

I can’t teach my grandson to read.
I can’t even grow flowers.
My daughter says I plant them too deep.

Just one time
I’d like to break
protocol, give out
daffodil bulbs,
grab her hand,
circle her wrist
with thumb and forefinger,

dig a hole,
this deep
one for each bulb.
Throw it in,
any which way.
Like you,
it’ll know,
where the sun rises.

Leave a Reply

